Skip to content

November Updates

December 1, 2010

To start the month off, Peter and I celebrated our 5th anniversary.  So much has changed for both of us since we met back in 2005.  Still can’t believe it sometimes!

Peter’s brother Andrew’s birthday falls on the same day as our anniversary, but this year his father was away on business so his 17th birthday festivities were held off for a week (we did get a chance to start things a little early on Halloween though!).

I think most of you have seen this video already, but for those who haven’t (or for those who just can’t get enough of it), here’s Alexa’s November Tricks!

We decided to hold off till this month to try potty training again.  I even armed myself with a fresh batch of training pants.  Alexa isn’t as cooperative as she was 2 months ago.  She does, however, know how to say potty…knows exactly what it is…sits on it when I ask her to..and says “pee pee”.  She’s just not fond of her new “big kid” undies or sitting with her pants around her ankles.  I think a pants free weekend is upon us once the holidays are over and things calm down a bit.

As some of you know, Alexa has taken to sitting in grown-up chairs instead of her high chair.  We decided to get a booster seat so things were a bit safer.  She loves it, or well…she did until we had a playdate with Baby James and she saw someone else using her old chair, LOL!

Alexa also outgrew one of her rocking toys.  I had purchased a super cute dino rocker at the latest consignment sale.  Great discount, sweet plush toy…but it just didn’t function correctly.  Alexa still loved it…until she decided that it wasn’t rocking high enough.  Yup, she flipped it.  No, she wasn’t hurt!  Peter was sitting on the floor behind her when it happened.  I ordered a new rocker that night, HA!

Speaking of playing, she had her first real Play-Doh experience.  She LOVED it, and cried when I put it away.  She doesn’t really get it yet…but I can’t wait to break it out again.  We have a TON of it!  Alexa is also currently digging puzzles, coloring, and books books and more books (she now says “read”, super cute).  She also found a new appreciation for hide & seek lately.  Wants us to run and “go bye bye” at least 10 times a day 🙂

Songs are the biggest part of my day.  The same three over and over again. Alexa cannot get enough of The Itsty Bitsy Spider, The Wheels on the Bus, and Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.  Gymboree taught her the “dances” and gestures that go along with each song.  It’s really sweet, I must make a video of the three STAT!

We’ve had a lot of family time with Peter’s side this month.  We had portraits shot (xmas cards soon to come).  There were a lot of really great photos from the session.

We also celebrated Thanksgiving with Peter’s side.  Alexa got to play with her cousins and loved every minute of it.  It was truly the best holiday I’ve had since I was a child.  Can’t wait for Xmas eve dinner to do it again!

After the holiday weekend we realized that Alexa was getting TWO more teeth, again!  Her bottom Canine teeth are breaking through as we speak.  That’s the last ones for a while though…as the second molars aren’t supposed to come in for about 6 more months.  She certainly has a mouth full, I can’t believe it was this time last year I was writing about her first 2 teeth coming in, wow!

Not only is she growing physically, she’s so much more verbal these days.  It seems like she learns a new word every day.  I’ve pretty much given up keeping track at this point.  Not only does she repeat back almost every thing I say, she remembers the words and uses them again the following day.  Pretty cool stuff.  The one that gets me every time is “no”.   I know, I know, it won’t be cute forever, but she says it like she’s saying yes.  Says it all the time to random questions, and always phrases it like a question.  Again, something I need to get on video before it stops being cute.

As always, there was a photo set for this month.  I still have to add a few more photos to it, but here’s the 20 month set.  Also, since a few of you have asked about Xmas gifts, I’m still using Kaboodle to save cool things I find…so I moved some of the more age appropriate stuff over to a 2010 wish-list.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

