Skip to content

First Trimester

August 16, 2011

We’re almost to the end of my first trimester (or just into the second depending on which website/chart you look at). I won’t lie, this one has been rough.  I was sick for about a month and basically just wanted to curl up in a ball and disappear.  Luckily Alexa has been patient with me…my special little caretaker always asking if “mommy feel better?”.  I’ve been feeling a tad more human for about 2 weeks now and just dealing with the overwhelming exhausting.  Luckily my mother is in town and takes care of me and Alexa many days until Peter gets home.  I’m REALLY hoping the second trimester is a bit easier!

We’ve had our first prenatal appointment with the midwife team at the Center for Women’s Health in Avon, NJ.  I was worried I wouldn’t be a candidate for their care due to my previous preterm delivery, but they are there for us and I’m thrilled!  Once again we’ll be shooting for a natural birth and using midwives is the best way to attempt that, specially when it’s a VBAC.

Since I will still be considered “high risk” we will be monitored by the Perinatal Institute.  I already have three ultrasounds scheduled to make sure everything is in working order.  There will be one at 12wks, 16wks, and 20wks.  The 12 week scan is known as the nuchal translucency screening which checks for some chromosomal abnormalities in the baby.  The 16 week scan is an internal ultrasound to check for cervical competence.  The 20 week scan is the “fun” one.  It’s the anatomy scan where they measure many parts of the baby, AND the one where you get to find out the sex if the baby cooperates.  We WILL be finding out this time if possible!  Assuming everything is where it should be, I’m not expecting many more tests, but only time will tell.  In case you’re keeping track, that first ultrasound will be next Monday the 22nd.

Once I start showing for real (and it doesn’t just look like I’m getting fat) I’ll start taking and posting belly pictures.  Nothing graphic I promise!  HA!  We’ll also share the ultrasound printouts with everyone as well but will most likely wait to show our immediate families before posting them online this time.

That’s about it for now, stay tuned for links to pictures 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ash permalink
    August 16, 2011 5:39 pm

    Yay baby! Glad that you’re starting to feel better and that the midwives said YES. They really are the best.

    • August 18, 2011 7:45 am

      I was so relieved when they didn’t tell me to go get an OB! Thank you!

  2. August 18, 2011 8:24 am

    So awesome that you get to use a midwife team. I wish my insurance covered that kind of thing – I would have way preferred that over the really creepy hospital birth experience.

    • August 18, 2011 8:54 am

      I’m thrilled! Though, it won’t be at a birthing center this time….these midwives still work in the hospital but at least they are natural friendly and the hospital they work in has birthing tubs and seem to be on the same page with them 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 30 plus wks twins almost here | Kizze Writes

Leave a Reply

