Skip to content

First *real* Ultrasound

August 22, 2011

Today I am 12 weeks (and change depending on who you ask).  This is the point in the pregnancy when you can opt for an ultrasound to check for chromosomal abnormalities.  Today we had that scan and everything looks A-Ok.  It was a VERY long appointment with three parts (ultrasound, doctor consult, and blood test).  Luckily we thought to ask my mother to babysit so Peter and I could go alone (together).

Everything checks out as it should be.  The baby is developing right on target and on time.  Maybe a little ahead of schedule (measuring 4 days bigger) though they didn’t change my due date officially.  I still say it’s March 3rd according to my cycle length and ovulation date (that I can FEEL), they’re still calling it March 5th according to the first day of my last cycle.  Though now it could be March 1st.  Oh well…it’s really a “guess month” anyway.

While we were with the doctor we received the news that this pregnancy will be monitored even more closely than expected.  Started at 16 weeks I will start weekly progesterone shots to help reduce the risk of preterm delivery.  I was worried I’d have to go to my midwife office (40 minutes away) every week to receive the injection.  The doctor told me I could self administer if I or Peter was comfortable with that.  I say ANYTHING beats a 40 minute one-way trip with a toddler once a week (for just a 5 minute appointment)!  We also found out that I will have an internal ultrasound every two weeks.  Again, I was concerned about the 45 minute drive each way every other week, but I was able to reschedule all of the appointments to the Riverview office, PHEW!

Obviously all of these tests, interventions, observations….whatever you call them…are to keep this baby inside till the very very end.  One bright side of all the scans will be LOADS of pictures!  Hopefully we can avoid any actual complications, but at least they’ll be able to see anything before I feel it.

Now that there are baby pictures to share I’ve decided to start taking pregnancy progression photos.  Right now I’m kinda sorta showing.  Without further adieu, here are the beginnings of 2 new Flickr photo sets – Ultrasound Images and Pregnancy Progression.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 8:06 pm

    Oh my gosh!!! It’s your little person!!!! I think ultrasound pics are usually pretty creepy, but your baby is somehow cute already and not subject to my creepy judgments.

    • August 22, 2011 8:22 pm

      HAHAHA yeah they are kinda creepy, especially the frontal ones that look like skeletor ;D

      • August 23, 2011 9:36 am

        Haha! They creep me out too, they look like little aliens! But, it would’ve made me feel so better to be able to see the progression via US pics every few weeks, hopefully it’ll stop you from worrying so much- Ha! Yeah, right! 😉

        • August 23, 2011 10:47 am

          During my last pregnancy I refused many tests. This time around I don’t feel like I have the option. For one I feel like I’m walking on thin ice between “high-risk” and that homey feeling I want from the midwives. I don’t want to be a difficult patient when they could have refused to see me. Also, if anything were to happen I could never forgive myself for not having everything done that could prevent a problem. Ah well….at least I get both the midwife care (and hopefully natural delivery) and the monitoring that will keep both baby and mom safe 🙂 And yes, seeing the development every 2 weeks will most likely keep my fears at ease, as much as anything can!

Leave a Reply

