Skip to content

Benefits of Homeschooling

October 11, 2011

I realize we haven’t been at this long, but there are already some pretty clear benefits of this Preschooling at Home adventure:

  • Alexa no longer begs for the TV in the morning, and less and less throughout the day.  It’s pretty awesome how much better at self-directed playtime she’s become.  The morning routine has trained us both to sit and eat without staring into the stupid box.
  • Now that we get dressed each and every day, Alexa fights the process less.  For a while when we went from loose fitting dresses and cotton shorts (the summer uniform) she had FITS over pants with buttons and real waistbands.  She’s used to real clothes again since she wears them all the time again.  PHEW!  I was worried it would be all leggings and sweater dresses all the time this year.  We still have some work to do in the shoe department.
  • Since we’re both dressed and put together we can leave the house whenever we like without much effort.  That means impromptu visits to the store or park or whatever are MUCH easier.  We also plan lots of outings to go along with the theme of the day so we’re both feeling better after being cooped up in the house (since I was so sick this summer).
  • All this structure is helping loads with the basic toddler issues.  As we move closer and closer to age THREE (the real terrible one I’m told) the meltdowns and tantrums HAD gotten worse.  In the last 3 weeks we’ve seen so much less emotional upheaval.  There’s more to do and more ways to express her feelings now that the mind numbing cartoons aren’t playing 24/7.  I’m pretty convinced that TV makes kids way too worked up, though I knew this before I had to do what any desperate pregnant mother of a toddler could, HA!
  • Each week is a new project for ME.  Being organized in one portion of my life carries over into the other parts.  Can I tell you how much better I’ve been at doing laundry and actually putting it away lately?  SO dumb to get excited over this, but seriously I HATE putting it away.  Now that I’m living my normal organized ways again, I feel better and am getting way more done (even though I have even more to do than before).  That’s how it is with me though, the busier I am, the more productive.  Hell, I even bought a week’s worth of food to cook for dinner during today’s grocery shopping trip.  I haven’t cooked for real for real in months!  I’m using my brain again and it feels good not to feel so slow and dumb 😛
  • And of course, the biggest benefits are the intended ones.  Alexa is learning new skills.  She can use a glue stick now and is getting better at tracing letters.  She understands that words are made up of letters and points out the ones she knows when we’re out and about.

I’m already so pleased with the way things are going that I can’t wait to add more in.  We’ll take it slow and move at Alexa’s pace, but I’m looking forward to some more elaborate projects and outings!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 7:11 pm

    You are super cool and I am crazy amounts of impressed with how organized you are and the whole getting dressed and not sitting in your pj’s all day thing.

    • October 11, 2011 7:38 pm

      Trust me though…unless there are plans for later in the day (or I’m expecting company for some odd reason) the PJ’s go on as soon as we either get home from our activities, or when she goes down for a nap. Depends on how comfy the *real* clothes are ;D

    • October 19, 2011 5:49 pm

      Seriously, I feel like Lotte would be in her pjs all morning. SO impressed with what you’re doing.

      • October 23, 2011 8:26 pm

        I do miss PJ days! Though I promise we still have a few of those a week 🙂

  2. October 16, 2011 9:12 pm

    It’s so great to read about you doing this – and very inspiring. that is SO AMAZING that she’s already started to recognise letters!!! Go girls 😀

    • October 16, 2011 9:26 pm

      She’s obsessed with the letter A 🙂 Knows B, O, and E as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

