Skip to content

Complaining Because I Can

October 24, 2011
tags:

I wanted to so badly to bask in the beautiful glow that pregnancy can shower you in.  Instead I got pretty much every *negative* symptom and side-effect of the process.  This time around has been hard mentally and physically. Let it be said that I know I’m lucky to have stellar prenatal care, and that most of these symptoms are said to be good signs with regard to fetal development, but they still suck when you’re suffering through them.

My first trimester was riddled with morning sickness that was really all.day.long.sickness.  I was often tempted to make myself throw up just to get it over with, but I knew there was nothing to get over.  The nausea would come back and I’d smell and taste like puke.  I was seriously the most tired I have ever been in my life.  Not even the endless nights of my no-sleeper compared to the exhaustion.  Luckily Alexa is very kind and patient.  She let me rest when need be and didn’t complain when I just wasn’t up to doing anything this summer.

My second trimester isn’t over yet but it started off pretty horribly.  The sickies didn’t go away upon reaching 13 weeks like so many had promised.  Just as my ability to eat was returning the headaches started. I *think* they went away about 2 weeks ago, but I’m so brain-dead at this point I can’t be sure.  I do know that heartburn has started to rear its ugly head.  Not all the time, but my guess is that it will get worse.  I also can’t breath if I talk too much or climb stairs.  The baby, like Alexa, seems to be shoved up under my lungs.  My heart feels all extra poundy (super technical I know!), but everything is normal so it’s just annoying.

Now let me talk about the issues I’ve dealt with from pretty much day one.  When someone tells you they have “breast tenderness” know this…it feels like the girls weigh 1000lbs and they require constant support, HA!  Seriously, I’m in pain guys!  Well, it did fade a bit, but it comes back for no good reason far too often.  I’ve always had “digestion issues” so trust me when I say that fiber is your friend because pregnancy slows shit down (hahhahaha like the pun there?  Sorry TMI!) and h’roids are unfun.  I’ve been breaking out like a middle-school boy that has yet to figure out what Stridex is.  To top the skin issues off, the rosacea Alexa lent me is all sorts of flared up from the hormonal surges (the extra progesterone shots aren’t helping this problem).  Oh, and let’s not even get into the number of times a day (and night) I have to get up to use the restroom.

So yeah, I’m uncomfortable and ready for March to arrive so we can get this show on the road.  I might be signing a different tune when I’ve got a newborn and a toddler to contend with, but so be it.  To all my friends that feel like this and then go and get pregnant again knowing what could be!  My goodness, you are stronger than me 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 9:06 am

    ::BIG GIANT CRAZY HUGS:: This is an almost exact description (if you swag progesterone shots for two bouts of kidney stones) of my pregnancy with Grace. I wanted to strangle anyone who told me how much they LOVED being pregnant. Hang in there. In my experience the hard pregnancy lead to an amazing Grace 🙂

    • October 26, 2011 11:36 am

      Thank you! I had no idea you felt this crappy the whole time! I knew you were sick at first, but big ((HUGS)) back atcha! I don’t know that I *LOVED* being pregnant the first time, but I didn’t hate it. I think it was all so novel, and I felt ok, that I assumed the 2nd time would be even better. OOOOPS! The only issues I had the first time around were horrible cheek acne (guess that was the beginning of the rosecea) in the first few weeks, then headaches the first 2-3 weeks of the 2nd trimester.

      How are you even considering having another after going through this your first time? I bow down at your bravery.

Leave a Reply

