Skip to content

Overwhelmed by Hoops

November 9, 2011

I’m cold, oh so cold.  I realize that as I type this it’s about 63 degrees outside my window.  It’s warm in that there sun ;D  It’s still cold inside of my house.  That lovely porch that keeps the house super cool in the Summer….does the same in the Fall and Winter.  The warming effects of the sun have no effect on my living room.

I think most of you can tell by my rantings on FB and Twitter that we’re lacking a heat source in this house.  Well, save from the space heaters and ghetto fabulous oven. I figured it was time for an official post on the topic since I’m tired of retelling this convoluted story, HA!

In August when the Hurricane hit, and our electric was out for 4 days, our basement flooded (the sump pump can’t work sans power) which killed the furnace.  Rather than fix and already old machine, we opted to upgrade.  Rather than stick with the nasty oil heating system of the past, we opted to switch to the cleaner natural gas system.  It’s been downhill ever since.

It takes months to get a gas line ran (we still don’t have a meter set on ours and it’s been 2 months).  We had attempted to have some insulation sprayed into our walls to retain some of the heat that we’re burning with these portable contraptions.  That led to an energy audit that gives you the option to take out federally funded 0% interest loans and rebates for energy upgrades.  That process takes weeks.  That process has been completed and we were approved, now we wait for estimates based on our upgrade needs to meet the requirements for the program.

We’ve had a slew of sheisty contractors come in and try to pretend like the $10K loan is free money (they’re super happy to spend it for us).  That, of course, sets back the clock every time you have to get ANOTHER estimate ran with ANOTHER company hoping that this one won’t try to screw us over.  All the while November is ticking past and it’s only getting colder outside our already cold house.

I’m officially spent.  I’m officially exhausted by all the jumping through of hoops.  I’m officially done and ready to just burn the damn house to the ground (I won’t really, I promise).  We just want to be warm.  We just want a fair price for the job.

Add to all of this the fact that I stay home with a 2 year old all day.  Our power bill is going to be REDONKULOUS because you best believe I run those heaters on max to keep us kinda sorta not freezing.

Add again that I’m pregnant and already physically uncomfortable.  I’m a hormonal wreck on the best of days, so when something starts to nose-dive again (as it has a few times during the process) I lose it.  I’m all cried out.  I’m officially overwhelmed and doing my best just to keep the minimum held together in hopes that this will all be over soon.

Seriously cannot wait to sell this place in the Spring.  **FINGERS CROSSED** someone will want to buy it because I never ever ever want to own anything ever again ;-/

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 4:11 pm

    What a nightmare! It really bums me out when people aren’t honest and try to tack on extra stuff just to make more money. Is there any way of going into an estimate without letting the contractor know that you got the loan? Like it’s just coming out of your pocket?

    • November 9, 2011 4:19 pm

      It sucks, but no they have to be told about the audit program so they can input the specs into the program to make sure we meet the minimum requirements with their proposal. Sucks, but I do think the last company that did a walk through (yesterday) is legit. They were super up front about everything and have given us a soft quote on part of the job already. Of course none of it is in writing, but I think they also know that we’re smart enough to ask for mult estimates and understand the different ratings systems and return on investment. Some contractors think they can thrown numbers and acronyms at you and make it all sound really good. We do a lot of research and a LOT of Googling if we don’t understand something. It doesn’t hurt that my father and his friend are in the trades so we know what should be fair. We have to use a General Contractor that is licensed with this energy audit program though….so we can’t use friends that do this sort of thing “on the side”.

  2. November 11, 2011 1:09 pm

    Where are you guys moving come spring?

    • November 15, 2011 9:22 pm

      *IF* we can sell we’ll just move back to north Jersey to be closer to Peter’s office (he’s in Newark). Right now we’re about an hour from his office which will suck even more when there’s another baby here. Hoping to be close so the commute isn’t such a pain!

Trackbacks

  1. Starting Over – New Holiday Traditions | Our Backwards Life
  2. Heated House « Our Backwards Life

Leave a Reply

