Skip to content

New Years Resolutions and 2012 Goals

December 30, 2011

I usually don’t “do” resolutions.  Most years I really don’t care enough about changing my life up in one fell swoop to try to wipe the slate clean.  There are small things I’d love to try, good habits I’d like to incorporate into my life, and bad ones I’d like to leave behind.  These are all just goals, most small…but all meaningful to me.

Photo Credit - http://www.health.com

I started to think about what new ideas and challenges would make 2012 a good year.  I’ve also considered what things I could undertake with a newborn/infant in tow….and what would help keep me sane and feeling like myself even though another baby will be all-consuming no doubt.

After writing my NYE Miss A article I knew I had to come up with some way to celebrate the holiday that felt meaningful.  I think a goal a month is a great way to honor the coming year and help keep me sane, focused, and involved in something….because we all know I love a good project.  Hell, I might even turn these into a blogging series to keep everyone updated on the progress.

The biggest thing with each of these goals/resolutions/whatever, is to have a plan in place to make sure I’m successful.  Just throwing ideas out there won’t be good enough.  Steps need to be taken to make sure the tasks are feasible.

Here’s what I have so far:

  1. Take a writing class – I’ve already looked up the local community college’s continuing/adult education program.  They have online writing programs that run for 6 weeks and I’m going to sign up for the one that starts in Jan.  It will be over before my due date and will give me something to fall back on when blogging feels like a chore (or I succumb to only posting smushy baby pictures).
  2. Do a “Mud Run” – Once I’m allowed to start exercising again after the baby comes…I will need a goal to keep me in check.  I’ve wanted to do a mud run ever since Peter’s sister and her bf told us about theirs.  There are a few this summer, and all are planned for about 3 months (or more) after my due date.  I think that’s a safe time-frame for training for a 5K.
  3. Do a Juice Cleanse – I’m thinking this will be my April 1st goal.  It should be enough time for me and the new babe to learn to breastfeed….so I’ll have a little more brain power to think about myself again.  April 1st was the start of a different healthy endeavor last year, so it makes sense to start another one to celebrate the anniversary of being smoke free for a year!  We got a juicer for Christmas and already plan to incorporate whole fruit and veggie juices into our diets going forward, but a real cleanse is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time.
  4. Sew SOMETHING on my machine – Peter bought me a sewing machine for my 30th birthday.  I’ve yet to even test it out.  That’s SHAMEFUL!!!!!!  I took sewing classes in High School so I’m not a complete nOOb, but I’m not at all comfortable with it.  I have crafty dreams, and I want to take the first step!  Who has something easy and gratifying they think I should try??
  5. Take a photo class – I took classes in college on a regular SLR, but I’ve never taken a digital class.  I have a lovely dSLR that I’m mildly comfortable with, but I’d like to relearn how to really really use it.  I’d also love to take some photo editing classes.  I’m thinking this will be a summertime project.  There are many amazing online resources, and my local community college also offers classes.  I’ll decide which route to take once the time comes.
  6. Get BlogHer2012 sponsorship – This one is lofty.  I attended the conference in 2010 under my old blog persona.  This time around I want to be more open and I’m using this blog.  Because I’ve never taken this one seriously until a few months ago, I have a lot of work to do.  You’ll see a lot of changes around here in the coming weeks/months (which I’ll go into more detail with later)….but there’s much work to be done to be taken seriously by corporate sponsors for such an awesome conference!
  7. Clean ALL of my stuff from my father’s house – My childhood home happens to be next door to my own.  There’s no excuse for me to have anything left over there after all these years.  I need to spend some time in his attic making sure that all my old junk is gone so he never has to deal with it ever again.
  8. Hang pictures on walls once painted – SAD SAD SAD there is NOTHING hanging on our walls.  We’ve lived here for years and we never hang pictures.  We’re planning on having the house repainted, from top to bottom, and once that’s done family photos must adore these walls.
  9. Have a weekly Family game/movie night – This one will be so important once the new baby arrives.  We’ll all need a way to bond and reconnect as a family, and having a weekly game or movie night is a VERY easy and inexpensive way to make sure that happens.  Just put your computers and phones away and really hang out with each other.
  10. Plan a monthly date night – That’s only 12 a year!  Peter and I are BAD at asking for help with this.  We need to get better at it for our own sanity and relationship.  We need time alone…even if for just a few hours. Or even just an hour to go eat without kids!
  11. Eat dinner at the table 3 nights a week – I’ll admit it.  I don’t love cooking.  I’m ok at it, but it’s not my favorite pastime.  That said, I kinda hate take out.  I also don’t want to fall back on junk food 24/7 after the baby comes.  If I can cook and eat at the table 3 nights a week I’ll be thrilled and maybe motivated to do it more often.
  12. Attend Sunday UU Services – This one is important to me.  I wrote about it at length last week.  I’m not saying we need to go every Sunday, because life will get in the way, but we need to make an effort to really start going because it makes us all feel better about the world around us when we do attend.
  13. BONUS Goals – Learn to make soap.  Try CrossFit.

As you can see not all of these will fit neatly into a 1-month 1-off setting, but I think that they are good and useful goals and resolutions to add to my and my family’s life.  Do you have any plans for the coming year?  Please don’t say get skinny and rich HA!

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2011 9:58 pm

    Whoa. You can get sponsorship to attend an awesome conference? I obviously don’t take my blog seriously enough, or I would know these cool things too.

    You are awesome. I hope all of the things you wish for in the new year, happen.

    • January 1, 2012 4:21 pm

      YUP you can totally get sponsored. I don’t even have any ads on my blog right now (because it’s not self-hosted, but will be in a few days). That said, I don’t know that I’ll actually get anything close to full sponsorship from a single company. Maybe I’ll get like 100 and plaster myself with logos like in “The Best Movie Ever Sold” 🙂

  2. December 31, 2011 5:08 pm

    Sewing. My unspoken goal for this next year. Maybe I should get a sewing machine first?

    Blissdom is my first time being sponsored for a blog conference – it’s actually easy once you get the ball rolling but OH SO HARD to make it happen.

    Hopefully it won’t be my last, and I’ll cross my fingers for you too. 🙂

    • January 1, 2012 4:30 pm

      If you lived closer I would totally share my machine ;D Can you hand-sew? THAT I’m a complete waste at. I ask my MIL to fix all of my daughter’s things because I can’t hide a stitch to save my life. I can, however, sew a straight line and make things like curtains, albeit, very simple ones!

      I’m terribly excited to hear how Blissdom goes. Oreck is your sponsor right? What do you have to do for them while you’re there. I’m guessing they didn’t give you tiny vacuums to hand out.

      It just so happens that your Blogging 101 posts came at the perfect time. I mean, I’ve done this all before…the blogging party….the gathering followers and the like. I’ve just never rolled with it once it got going. Actually, after BlogHer10 I totally quit blogging. Well on my personal/private site. I’ve always kept this one going for family updates and whatnot, and decided to merge the two (for now I just blog more personal content here…but I have tons of old posts I will merge when I bring it over to WordPress.org).

      I have a lot of ideas on how to start selling ad space as a start, and seeking out other small businesses that want some practice exposure while I get my feet wet. I did run a fairly successful home-business before I had kids, so it’s not all completely new, though I’m VERY rusty 🙂

  3. December 31, 2011 8:29 pm

    How about, “Get skinny, rich, and FAMOUS”?

    Happy new year, and best of luck on all your goal-achieving endeavors. Also keep in mind that I will not complain in the slightest should you succumb to posting all baby pictures, all the time!

    • January 1, 2012 4:33 pm

      I like your style my love 🙂 You’re already famous to me!
      Thank you for your kind words…and I know my closest friends will love my posts no matter how photo-filled.

      Part of my desire to relearn how to write stems from the fear that my brain will turn to mush again after the baby. I remember after Alexa, I couldn’t think straight for some time. It only really came back to me after I started taking classes for my teaching cert. I’m hoping to keep the grew matter spongy and useful this time around 🙂

  4. January 3, 2012 1:13 pm

    Ok, a few things:
    1. Taking a writing class? ME, TOO!! Such a fantastic idea.
    2. BlogHer sponsorship? You’re amazing. I’m self-hosted, but I don’t even know how to get ads. Lame-o.
    3. Hang pics on walls? Right there with you. We’ve lived here for almost 7 yrs and have like, 2 pictures up. Pathetic! I HAVE frames, just nothing in them.
    4. Game/movie night? LOOOOOVE. I’ve always wanted to do this.

    Sounds like a good plan! Happy New Year to you guys. XO

    • January 3, 2012 1:23 pm

      Love that we’re on the same page! I’m actually about to sign up for the writing class today, just have to pick which one. They start in 2 weeks!

      The Sponsorship might be a pipe-dream, but I did run a business so I know how to contact other businesses and write up press releases and whatnot 🙂 My self-hosting can start on the 10th (dummy renewed my URL on the free site, and had to wait 60 days!). I have some fun ideas on how to pull in ads from small businesses for now, which I’ll post about once the .org setup is complete 🙂 I’m saving ideas on what sorts of “big” businesses I should contact once I have something legitimate for them to look at. I’m also trying to restructure the blog and work in some SEO tricks to get more pageviews. I like web-design and online marketing, it’s just something I’ve forgotten that I kinda know how to do.

      PICTURES! so many frames, so many printed photos, even some art….all of it is hiding in closets. SAD. The only thing hanging on the walls is Alexa’s ABC’s for homeschooling, and only because the command thingies hold them. Now you’re moving, so you’ll have a new place to decorate if you chose. I think I’m at a standstill here because I don’t want to live in this house anymore. Like why bother? Though, we will need to stage the house with some art when we put it on the market (next Spring we think).

      I used to play cards with friends and bf’s, and now Peter and I have the Xbox and Kinect so we can play games on the couch together (and dance once I can move again)! If we had more couple-friends in the area I’d invest in some board games. So dorky, but still super fun!

  5. January 5, 2012 11:18 am

    I can tell you that weekly family night is actually super fun, even if you are just watching a movie 🙂 I love your goals, I hope that you can accomplish them!!

    • January 13, 2012 11:21 am

      Peter and I spend a lot of time doing things next to each other…but not really WITH. I thought the family night would be a good way to have some time together, including the kids! The date night will be harder to work out, but just as important.

Leave a Reply

